FIC: When You Reach Me

whenyoureachme
TitleWhen You Reach Me (Yearling Newbery)
Author: Rebecca Stead
Publication Date: 2009
Publisher: Yearling
ISBN: 9780375850868
Format: Fiction (paperback)
Plot summary: Miranda’s world as a 6th grader in 1978 New York City turns upside down when she begins receiving mysterious notes about events that haven’t occurred yet — events that might mean danger for one of her friends. Her best friend Sal gets punched by another kid for no apparent reason and, from day that on, he no longer seems to want to be friends. As Miranda tries to figure out the identity of the letter writer and what part she plays in the effort to possibly save her friend’s life, she navigates new friendships and discovers not-so-pleasant truths about herself (e.g. that she is meaner than she’d like to believe) and society (e.g. racism, socioeconomic divides).
Audience:  5th grade and up

Strengths:
-Well-written narrative; short chapters lends well to the fast pace of the book. Stead does a good job keeping the readers guessing about the identity of the letter writer, the friend he or she is trying to save, how the notes are sent, etc.
-Chapter titles and the storyline about Miranda’s mom being on the $20,000 Pyramid show — Stead masterfully uses these elements to enhance the idea that Miranda has to piece together different events and observations in order to solve the puzzle.
-Interesting take on time-travel and how it might look like.
-References to A Wrinkle in Time may prompt the reader to read that next, if they hadn’t already. Might also encourage readers to explore other books on time travel.

Weaknesses:
-I thoroughly like this book, so I can’t say I have found any weaknesses. If I had to be picky (though this could be a strength — see above), it is the fact that the reader is expected to know a bit about A Wrinkle in Time. I wonder if readers who have never read the book would get as much out of When You Reach Me as the author had hoped/intended.
-Another possible weakness is the difficulty of the subject itself. The lexile measure might be lower, but readers might be frustrated by the idea of time travel.
-A character dies quite tragically in the book. Racist remarks were said about one of the characters. Younger readers may have a hard time understanding these issues.

Uses:
-When You Reach Me can be considered a hybrid of genres — mystery, science fiction, and historical fiction. As such, one could use this book to introduce different genres or appeal to different reading interests:

  • Mystery: Who is sending Miranda these letters?
  • Sci-Fi: Is time travel possible? How do the characters think it works?
  • Historical Fiction: what about the setting (New York City in the 1970s) makes something a historical novel?

-The book can also be used to discuss various narrative elements. For example, how does author advance themes such as time/time travel, friendship, etc.:

  • The time travel theme is supported by images of watches and clocks throughout the book
  • “Dick Clark” — timeless, does not age — vs. most people, who do age, i.e. Marcus.
  • The idea of “unlocking a mystery” is  supported by images of keys (e.g. they give access to something) and the tying and untying of knots (e.g. solving a complex problem)
  • References to $20,000 Pyramid – further supports the theme of “solving a problem” by finding a common thread to a set of clues

-This book could appeal to a multitude of readers, interests (mystery, sci-fi, big-city living), and reading levels. Though time travel might be a hard concept to grasp, the short chapters and direct writing style may be good for reluctant readers. It’s also a good book about relationships (friendships Miranda has, and the relationship between her and her mother, etc.).

Read-alikes:
-Without a doubt, readers who liked this book will want to read or re-read A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle or the other books in the Time Quintet series, A Wind in the Door (1973), Many Waters (1986), A Swiftly Tilting Planet (1978), and An Acceptable Time (1989).

-The book also references Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh, which would be another good “next book” for readers who enjoy mysteries.

-Older readers (grades 4-7, SLJ) might enjoy H.G. Well’s The Time Machinea classic time-travel story set in Victorian times.

“Who Could That Be at This Hour?” (All the Wrong Questions) by Lemony Snicket for readers who liked the mystery aspect of When You Reach Me.

Awards/Best Books (from CLCD):

Other: 
AR Points 6; Interest Level: Middle Grade; Book Level 4.5; Lexile Measure 750 
Author website: http://www.rebeccasteadbooks.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s